Friday, December 20, 2013

Early Review ~ Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Series: Uninvited #1
Genre: YA science fiction
Pages: 384 (for hardcover)
Publication date: January 28th, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
Goodreads Description: 
The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.
Source: I received an e-arc of this book from the publisher through Edelweiss in return for an honest review.

Uninvited was a fast and interesting read featuring a good, well-behaved heroine thrust into a violent, cruel, and unfair life simply because she was tested positive for the Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTC) gene, also known as the kill gene.

THE STORY

My first impression of the book was that the concept was fresh. I don't read many books with a concept like the kill gene, and it was nice to read about something a little different. At the same time, though, I thought the rest of the book was formulaic. There was the good girl with a good boyfriend (that of course, turns out to be a complete jerk) whose life suddenly falls from popularity for whatever horrible reason and the seemingly bad, tattooed, scarred, and mysterious guy who she was obviously going to fall for. I regretfully made a note of this at 24 percent through the book, feeling a touch disappointed in the book.

Thankfully, though, that disappointment was quickly forgotten as the book twisted a little and veered away from the path of my expectations. It became an even more interesting read, now that I could enjoy the story without worrying so much that the story accompanying the great concept turned out to be less formulaic than I though it would be.

THE SCIENCE

The genetics is a bit shaky. It didn't go into depth into how the kill gene was passed down and what it really meant to be a "carrier." There wasn't very much explanation behind why Davy was a carrier and the rest of her family didn't, even though the only way for her to even get the kill gene in the first place was if her parents both technically carried kill genes as well. I can only assume that being declared as being a carrier of the kill gene actually means having two recessive alleles expressing for HTC or having some sort of genetic mutation, but all I can do is assume that because there was hardly any spotlight on the genetics behind the syndrome.

Besides seeing more explanation, I would've loved to see more science and genetics in general built into the story. There was only a small amount of it, and it would've been really cool to see more done with a really cool and interesting scientific concept. However, that's not weighing too heavily on my opinion of the book because Uninvited is the first of a series. There's plenty of room for more science later on.

THE HEROINE

I really liked Davy, despite the fact that I can never remember her name (I get name amnesia often). She was nice and normal
not the ruthless, bloodthirsty killer that people expect a one with the kill gene to be. She had to be constantly saved by Sean in fights or other tough situations, but that didn't necessarily mean she wasn't strong. She just needed to adjust to her new life and develop a tougher skin and show she was capable of demonstrating her strength.

OVERALL

I quite enjoyed reading Uninvited. Despite the disappointments in the beginning quarter, I loved the story. It was fast, interesting, and definitely not dull. And it's definitely worth reading!

My questions for you:

Do you like science fiction?
What makes a book seem formulaic to you?
Do you think the book sounds interesting?

10 comments:

  1. Sounds really interesting, if only they explored the concept abit further with the genetics explanation. I can't wait to read this, I'll be picking it up soon! Lovely review Kaitlin!

    Jeann @ Happy Indulgence

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, definitely read it soon! Thanks, Jeann. :)

      Delete
  2. Hmm, science fiction is a hit or miss for me and this one sounds like it might just be a hit. I do prefer a heroine that can fight for herself and not rely on a guy, but it sounds like she is a strong character anyway.Good review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you'll read this one and enjoy it!

      Delete
  3. I remember watching something on Through the Wormhole that didn't regard a gene, but brain structure of murderers. Apparently there is something different that can be seen in MRI scans, which interests me. So I suppose there is a little bit of scientific backing to this idea and therefore I can't judge it too harshly. Definitely will be picking it up upon release. :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There is scientific backing to the idea . . . but the book didn't go into much detail on backing it up for the readers. I hope you enjoy the book!

      Delete
  4. I like science fiction so this book seems interesting but I don't like the whole cliche romance thing. At least the main character is good though! Sorry for the short comment in a rush!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, don't worry about a short comment! I appreciate all comments, regardless of size. :D

      Delete
  5. Great review! I liked the killer gene concept as well, it really made me think:) The romance was definitely not the strongest point in the book, I could have done without it.

    Eveline's Books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. True. The book would've still been great without the romance.

      Delete

Hello potential commenter! Thank you for visiting my blog! Comments always brighten my day. :) I'll try to reply as soon as I can.