Sunday, June 15, 2014

Review ~ The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Series: The Murder Complex #1
Genre: YA dystopia
Pages: 398
Publication date: June 10th, 2014
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Goodreads Description: 
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings. 
Source: I received an e-arc of this book from the publisher through Edelweiss in return for an honest review. 

The Murder Complex was a very good read for me, especially considering my lack of interest in most of dystopia books lately. It was an exciting, action-packed, bloody start to a really interesting series. It had most of the elements that I see in many books of the genre, but the concepts made it stand out.

THE WORLD OF THE MURDER COMPLEX

This world was so interesting. I loved the concept of the Murder Complex and how it came to be. The world building was good. There was a history that explained why the world was the way it was, but it wasn't revealed until later in the book. Before then, there were hints as to what the Murder Complex was, who had founded it (a very important part, by the way), and why it was started in the first place. 

Like I said before, this dystopia had most of the elements that books of the genre seem to have (violence, resistance, a controlling force, death, etc.), but I loved how it focused on overpopulation (and population control) and the affects of intervening on the natural order of things (death). It made the book so interesting to read. 

TWISTS AND OTHER EXCITEMENT

This wasn't a surprise considering the book description, but this was quite the exciting read. it was action-packed and bloody. It had big twists and other events that made my eyes go wide. The most exciting part was the end, though. My jaw literally dropped and my eyes widened as I stared at the last paragraph and wished I had the sequel.

THE ROMANCE

This part didn't dominate the book, but romance usually stands out to me. I liked Zephyr and Meadow together, but at the same time, I didn't like their relationship. It had so much conflict in it that I couldn't decide whether I wanted them to be together or not. They had a certain chemistry that I sensed very early on, which was what made me think they went well together. So, I was a bit iffy on this part of the book.

OVERALL

The Murder Complex had many wow moments, but overall book didn't amaze me. There was still something about it that didn't draw me in completely. Nevertheless, I really liked reading it! The concepts made for an interesting world and the twists and events added a lot of excitement. I will definitely be reading the sequel!


My questions for you:

Are you a fan of the dystopia genre?
What was the last jaw-dropping ending you read?

8 comments:

  1. I agree! I loved the world building of this book and really enjoyed the dystopian world the author created, quite old style dystopian! That ending really left me hoping the sequel will come out very soon!!
    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, Pili! I really want that sequel soon too!

      Delete
  2. I liked the twists and bloody part the most haha. While it was action packed, there was still something missing. Idk, I think I was looking for more world building. I did not really like the romance at the beginning. It was a bad case of insta-love for me. Glad you enjoyed it though! And that ending made me want to have the sequel too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I got the sense that the romance was a bit insta-love-y, but I didn't mind it.

      Delete
  3. I didn't really like the "insta-love" aspect to their relationship. It is unrealistic in every book its used it but especially in this one given Meadow's past. Other than that though I really loved this book! Meadow is an awesome protag from the beginning, and Zephyr grew on me after awhile. I didn't realize it was a series until I was getting close to the end and realized there is no way this is resolving in time. Oops. Hopefully we won't have to wait too long for the sequel!

    --Katie at Paperback Planes

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope so too! I'm glad you liked this one too. :)

      Delete

  4. I saw this book online and I am really interested in reading it. At first I thought it was like an action or suspense or murder mystery book. I was basing my opinion on the name of the book. I'm glad to see that it is more along the lines of what I am interested in reading. Of course I enjoy other types of books but for some reason dystopians draw me in.
    Now I cannot wait to read this book. After reading your review I am going to go prepurchase it so I do not miss it when it comes out.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you enjoy it when you get to reading it. :)

      Delete

Hello potential commenter! Thank you for visiting my blog! Comments always brighten my day. :) I'll try to reply as soon as I can.