Friday, August 8, 2014

Review ~ Amity by Micol Ostow

Series: standalone
Genre: YA horror
Pages: 368
Publication date: August 26th, 2014
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Goodreads Description: 
For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror.

Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break.

But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor's nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses that aren't there and bleeding blisters that disappear in the blink of an eye. She knows Amity is evil and she must get her family out, but who would ever believe her?

Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again.

Alternating between parallel narratives, Amity is a tense and terrifying tale suggested by true-crime events that will satisfy even the most demanding horror fan.
Source: I received an e-arc of this book from the publisher through Edelweiss in return for an honest review.

Amity was . . . I' not really sure, actually. It didn't bring much to the table in terms of plot, character development, character growth, or themes. It didn't even have much of a point to it--other than being scary and creepy, and well, a horror novel. I rarely watch horror movies, but I've seen a few that just didn't seem to have any point to them. This book reminded me of them.

Amity was incredibly creepy and weird. The main characters had the craziest narrations I've ever read throughout an entire book. The writing was heavily descriptive, but there wasn't a ton of gore. The scary parts came more from the blood-coming-the-faucet, doors-slamming-by-themselves, this-character's-thoughts-and-actions-are-super creepy variety. The pace felt super quick. I zipped right through it in one sitting (I was surprised I read it so fast). The ending got insane. Personally, it was the best part of the whole book. It sure made an impression on me.

Overall, I really liked this book. It was a good, creepy YA horror novel. I haven't read many that have reminded me of a horror movie as Amity did and I don't come across many other books that are quite like this one. If you're a fan of horror movies or books, I would definitely give this one a shot.




My question for you:

What elements make a great horror novel/movie for you?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hello potential commenter! Thank you for visiting my blog! Comments always brighten my day. :) I'll try to reply as soon as I can.