Thursday, April 9, 2015

Review ~ A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Genre: NA fantasy
Pages: 416
Publication Date: May 5th, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Goodreads Description: 
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! 
Source: I received an e-ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Before I get onto the book, close your eyes...wait, you can’t do that. Do that after you read my instructions. Imagine a piece of the most amazing, rich chocolate cake (or, if you hate chocolate, something that tastes delicious). Imagine taking the very first bite of that amazing cake and just reveling in taste of one of the most delicious things you’ve ever eaten.

Can you imagine that?

That experience of savoring that bite of rich, chocolatey goodness is so similar to the feeling I got from reading A Court of Thorns and Roses. I this one read slowly, drinking in all the details of the world and the characters and the descriptions and the dialogue and the feelings. This book had a slower pace, which allowed me fully immerse myself into it and enjoy what was going on. Reading it was like eating amazing chocolate cake. It made me feel happy and satisfied.

The world building felt like it had layers. It started off with what Feyre knew. Then, as the book progressed, another layer was uncovered and more details revealed, then another layer was peeled back to reveal deeper details, and so on. It was REALLY COOL. I loved seeing this happen. It was amazing world building! 

I loved Feyre and her journey. Sarah J. Maas sure knows how to put her heroines through tough stuff. She shatters them into pieces and has them pick up the pieces and put themselves back together. I absolutely LOVE how well she develops them and how she exhibits their growth.

Tamlin seemed . . . solid. I loved him! I really liked him with Feyre, which leads me to the romance. These two had a great connection. The romance slow burning, sensual, and intense. The emotions ran deep and were very believable. I was wowed by the romance.

Rhys left a bigger impression on me than Tamlin did. I actually kinda loved him (not really as a love interest, but as a character). He was more complex than Tamlin, or maybe I just think that because I have a soft spot for bad guys (in books) with weaknesses and/or soft spots that become more visible as time goes on. He is going to have amazing character growth. I just feel it. It’s going to feel like its very own bite of delicious chocolate cake.

ACOTAR was rich. Sensual. Dangerous. Wicked. Captivating. There was so MUCH to the book: impeccable world building, well developed characters, variety of settings, great pace, a really interesting plot. It was so easy to just sink into this one and enjoy every minute. It was truly an amazing fantasy and you NEED to read it. It’s a must.



2015 challenges this book counts towards:
105 Challenge
Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge
Flights of Fantasy

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hello potential commenter! Thank you for visiting my blog! Comments always brighten my day. :) I'll try to reply as soon as I can.