Sunday, May 3, 2015

Review ~ Denton Little's Deathdate by Lance Rubin

Genre: YA contemporary/sci-fi (It's tough to pin down)
Pages: 352
Publication Date: April 14th, 2015
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Goodreads Description: 
Fans of John Green and Matthew Quick: Get ready to die laughing.

Denton Little's Deathdate takes place in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day they will die. For 17-year-old Denton Little, that's tomorrow, the day of his senior prom.

Despite his early deathdate, Denton has always wanted to live a normal life, but his final days are filled with dramatic firsts. First hangover. First sex. First love triangle (as the first sex seems to have happened not with his adoring girlfriend, but with his best friend's hostile sister. Though he's not totally sure. See: first hangover.) His anxiety builds when he discovers a strange purple rash making its way up his body. Is this what will kill him? And then a strange man shows up at his funeral, claiming to have known Denton's long-deceased mother, and warning him to beware of suspicious government characters…. Suddenly Denton's life is filled with mysterious questions and precious little time to find the answers.

Debut author Lance Rubin takes us on a fast, furious, and outrageously funny ride through the last hours of a teenager's life as he searches for love, meaning, answers, and (just maybe) a way to live on. 
Source: I received an e-arc of this book in exchange for an honest review.

What can I say about this book without spoiling it? Not much, so this review will be brief! 

I loved the concept! It would be so bizarre to know which day would be my last. Going to my funeral, sitting around, knowing I should be dying any second--that sure is an experience I'm glad I won't have. I liked how the book brought to light reactions to death. The pity, the tears, the worry, the awkward jokes. Denton was a really good character that tried to make his last hours the best they could be and to own up to things he did.

There wasn't much romance, but I kept an eye out for the hints of it. For some reason, I was rooting Denton and Veronica on from the very beginning. I just really liked the idea of them as a couple.

Paolo was such an oddball. He was one of the funniest parts of the book. He was random and hilarious! Other than Denton, Paolo was my favorite character.

There was a little bit of a mystery involved, but I won't say much about it. It made the book a little intense, especially towards the end. It also left behind too many loose ends for me to be completely satisfied with the ending, but I believe there's going to be a sequel. My answers should be answered in that book.

Overall, this book was a crazy ride! Full of dark humor, weird characters, and awkward moments, Denton Little's Deathdate proved to be the great book I was hoping it would be. I was pretty impressed with this debut and I'm looking forward to reading more from the author!



2015 challenges this book counts towards:

105 Challenge

Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge
2015 Debut Author Challenge

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hello potential commenter! Thank you for visiting my blog! Comments always brighten my day. :) I'll try to reply as soon as I can.